Colorado Supreme Court

Office of Attorney Regulation Counsel

Promoting Professionalism. Protecting the Public.

Professionalism Course FAQs

What is the Professionalism Course requirement?

All applicants for admission to practice law in Colorado must attend the six-hour course “Practicing with Professionalism” presented by the Office of Attorney Regulation Counsel in cooperation with the Colorado Bar Association (see C.R.C.P. 203.3(4), and 203.4(6)). Click here for more information about the Professionalism Course.

When can I take the professionalism course?

Exam applicants must take this course as a condition of admission.  The Course may be completed either before or after sitting for the Colorado bar examination; however, you are encouraged to register and complete this course as soon as feasible, as classroom size is limited and the space fills quickly. Do not wait until the last minute to register for this course; your admission to the bar will be delayed in the event you are unable to complete it prior to the Admission Ceremony. The date of the Admission Ceremony is set by the Colorado Supreme Court and the details will be posted on the website once it has been set.

On Motion and UBE Score Transfer applicants must complete the course within the first six months of admission and should NOT complete the course prior to taking the oath of admission.

I took the Professionalism Course and turned in my affidavit. Can I be admitted today?

No. It takes approximately 48 hours to process affidavits after a Professionalism Course has been given. Do not expect to be cleared to take the oath of admission on the same day the course is completed.

How do I submit by Professionalism Course Affidavit?

For exam applicants, please submit your affidavit to the Office of Attorney Admissions by utilizing our Professionalism Course Affidavit portal located HERE. You will be asked to submit your name, NCBE number, date of attendance, and upload a copy of your affidavit.

For On-Motion and UBE applicants, Colorado attorneys and judges must report CLE credits for this course by logging in to the Online CLE Transcript. You can access the online entry of an Affidavits by visiting Click on the CLE Transcripts, login and select Enter Online Affidavits. You can enter your affidavit using the Course ID located at the bottom of your affidavit. Entries to the Online Transcript take at least 24 hours to appear on the transcript.

< Back